Why Do I Bento?

4 Jan

I love, love, love being a mama.  I also love being creative and doing things like papercrafting, which is a snooty way of saying scrapbooking and card making.  One of those two things wasn’t happening.  Guess which one?  Ummm… yea, you just can’t ignore the mama thing.

So… one fateful day in May of 2010, I was surfing around and stumbled upon a blog (see the 1st entry in my Blogroll) and voilá… the perfect combination!  Scrapbooking with FOOD!  The kid has to eat, right?  She will probably eat more varieties of food if it is cute, right?  It can’t take THAT much time, right?  AND… I was hooked.

And now, in an effort to chronicle my Bento and share my learning… I am blogging about it.  True obsession leads to a blog, no?

4 Responses to “Why Do I Bento?”

  1. Terri January 6, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    This is GREAT! If for no other reason than in 15 years when Little O screams, “You don’t love me!” after being told “no” for the 10th time to her pleading requests for that cute, new car she believes she must have before leaving for college. You can whip out your archived blog and show her how much you really love her. You made thoughtful, creative and, most importantly, nutritional meals in cute little boxes for her and made ordinary food into something very special. Now that’s LOVE. 🙂 She’s a very lucky girl!

    This blog is an excellent venue for you to showcase your creative exploits …plus you get to exercise your mild (mild?) OCD tendencies, my friend. 😉 I look forward to following your posts. Blog ON!

    • LITTLEoBento January 6, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      Thanks so much Terri. I will definitely keep this to hang over her head! haha It is much better than the standard, “I carried you around for nine months.” As for OCD… what in the WORLD could you be talking about? tee hee

  2. BECKY January 6, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    I finally understand your obssesion with bento box stuff.
    It really is a good way to be creative and it certainly will help O get a good nutrious lunch that she will eat.
    I am very proud of you. love mom

    • LITTLEoBento January 7, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      Thanks, mom! I have to say that one of the fond memories from my childhood was opening up my lunch at school, made for me even when I was in High School sometimes! Sometimes my sandwich was cut in a funny shape, sometimes there was a little not, sometimes there was a tasty surprise… all letting me know that my mom was thinking about me and loved me!

Leave a Reply

