Bentos B4 the Blog, part 1 of 4

5 Jan

Here is the first of a few of the bento that I made and photographed (badly) way before setting up this blog…

My first Bento

The first "bento"

Bento #1 (March 25, 2010)

This was my very first attempt at making a bento.  I remember that I was so proud of it.  Now, I am almost ashamed to post it!  It was fun to use the divided Tupperware container that O got from her G-ma for her first Christmas. I didn’t really know it at the time, but it makes a great bento box and I use it all the time now.

Ingredient List:  pretzel skewered grapes, texmati rice, bell pepper divider, leftover orange chicken, edemame, bell pepper slices

Tools:  a Tupperware divided container, Wüstof paring knife

Learn:

  • The Good: ingredients were nice and healthy and the girls ate it all up (alms0st), so mission one was accomplished
  • The Bad: poorly packed, too much space and things shifted around a bit; using bell pepper as a divider slightly colored and flavored the rice
  • The Ugly: never use a pretzel stick to skewer grape halves, first of all it tastes nasty (left totally uneaten) and secondly the pretzels disentigrated
4 Responses to “Bentos B4 the Blog, part 1 of 4”

  1. Terri January 6, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Even if the pretzel skewer thing was a major fail, as far as I’m concerned, you win major creativity points there! Probably a snack best eaten immediately, eh?

  2. LITTLEoBento January 6, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I’m actually not sure if salt and grapes go together… I didn’t really think about it much at the time. I just knew I couldn’t skewer grapes for a wild, just then 2 year old with a bamboo skewer! Now I am going to have to go try grapes and salt to see. (I do adore chocolate and salt!)

  3. Wendy January 6, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I love your blog!!! What a great idea, I can’t wait to read more.

    Funny, when I first saw your pretzel grapes I thought what a great idea! Glad to know it didn’t work practically.

    • LITTLEoBento January 6, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment! Yea… I thought the pretzel skewers were going to be really useful for soft-ish foods. I thought I was being so darned innovative!

Leave a Reply

