Tuesday Tools: A Very Bento Christmas

11 Jan

A Very Bento Christmas

No, I did not spend my Winter Break making bentos in the morning for us to eat at our own table later that day, but Christmas was very good to my bento toolkit. (I did spend some time learning to do something new for bentos… dumplings, but that’s for another post.)

Although most of my extended family are crafty and creative, gift giving is purposefully utilitarian at times.  My spouse is a programmer and whipped up a quick program that allows people to add items to their wish list and see items from others’ lists.  Its all for good reason since no one wants to buy someone something they won’t use and it gives the list maker the opportunity to drop in items that they would really enjoy even though they might not purchase for themselves.

I added bento items that I knew I would enjoy but certainly didn’t need. My family delivered since the items were relatively inexpensive and really fun to search through.

Now I will share the bounty of my Very Bento Christmas:

  • Animal Shaped Fork-style Picks
  • Stainless Japanese Vegetable Cutters (flying bird, cloud, star, 3 flower)
  • Egg Molds (car, bunny, fish, bear)
  • Plastic Cutting Mats (4 color coded large, 2 small) – not pictured
  • Candy Eyes (small and large)
  • Yum-Yum Bento Box: Fresh Recipes for Adorable Lunches by Maki Ogawa and Crystal Watanabe
  • Kawaii Bento Boxes: Cute and Convenient Japanese Meals on the Go by Joie Staff

I will be hitting on tools as often as possible on Tuesdays, with more pictures, uses, etc.  Join me next week for Tuesday Tools!

BTW – You can see a list of all of my tools on the My Toolkit page.

One Response to “Tuesday Tools: A Very Bento Christmas”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 1.3.2011 – Apple Bunny « LITTLE o Bento - January 17, 2011

    […] She cutout the cheese shapes with the Japanese Stainless Steel Vegetable Cutters that I got for a Very Bento Christmas. O loves to help with just about anything we are doing and  I try to let her help as much as […]

Leave a Reply

