Fabulous Furikake

12 Jan

Adult vs Anime Furikake

The last time I went to H-Mart, I picked up a couple of packages of furikake after reading about it on another blog.  It has been in my bin of dry filler ingredients since then partially because I couldn’t read anything on the packaging. I have no idea what in the world I bought.  One is the “only in Japan” crazy-colorful anime packaging obviously intended for kids (I think) and the other is in much more conservative packaging.

The anime furikake comes in small, single-serving envelopes, so this is the one I decided to open and pack into my lunch.  OMG!  (I hate that phrase, but it actually applies this time… apologies.)  It may even be bad furikake, I don’t know, but I love it.  I already love sushi rice and eat more than I should, but this stuff makes it even better!

The single serving envelopes make it super easy to pack in the lunch, but actually sprinkling the furikake on top would certainly add some decoration to plain rice.  The next trip to H-Mart will definitely bring more fabulous furikake into my life!

4 Responses to “Fabulous Furikake”

  1. Terri January 12, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    So it’s a mystery spice mix of some sort? I love H-Mart! Japanese packaging is so over the top…nothing subtle there…everything screams at you from the shelves! What does that say about the culture? Might be an interesting topic for another day 🙂

  2. Terri January 12, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    BTW, I would love it if there was a way to double click on your pictures to open them in a separate window and make them larger. Is there any way to do this?

    • LITTLEoBento January 12, 2011 at 11:09 am #

      Yes… a mystery spice mix. Oh, so yummy. I love looking at Japanese packaging. I will looking into making a link to bigger pictures. I am sure it can be done, just gotta figure it out. Great idea, thanks!

    • LITTLEoBento January 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      I figured out how to click to make a larger pic! Done on all posts now.

Leave a Reply

