Zombie, NObento

23 Jan

Zombie Cake

So, it isn’t a bento, but it is “cute” food.

I use cute in quotes because I suppose a zombie cake isn’t exactly cute.  My cousin is a zombie freak.  She loves anything zombie.  So, I decided to make her a zombie cake for her big 3-0 birthday.

I have no real cake decorating expertise other than that my grandmother used to decorate cakes as a business.  I used to watch and help her in the summers when we would visit.  She has directly taught me some things and has answered many questions over the phone… thanks G-ma!

The cake is chocolate (devils food) and the icing is chocolate as well.  A dusting of brown sugar give the “dirt” some color and texture.  The weed/grass tufts are a mixture of chocolate and cream cheese icing with a few drops of green food coloring.  I made the headstones out of card stock and simply used a butter knife to lift the cake and make the broken ground.  I ordered the glow-in-the-dark zombie play set (yes, it was called a play set) from Amazon.

Leave a Reply

